Mexican Hamburger with Kale, Spinach and Tomatoes and Hot Pepper-less Guacamole

Posted: April 10, 2013 in Meat Dish, Recipes
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

About a month ago I bought my first portion of a cow. An 1/8th of a cow, to be exact, but I bought 25 extra pounds of ground beef. My sister says it’s all in my head, but I swear this ground beef tastes better than any ground beef I’ve ever had. Anyway, since I bought so much, I have been having ground beef as a breakfast or snack staple. Specifically, I love this recipe. I’ve been making it for weeks and it’s fantastic. This week I made some guacamole to go along with it. I look forward to it every day!

A side note: I have a couple of weird food intolerances going on. One is eggs, which isn’t an issue with this recipe. The other is peppers. Any kind of peppers: sweet, hot, chilis, etc. But only if they’re fresh or canned. Dry doesn’t bother me (I assume it’s either that the pepper’s so processed, or because you use such a small amount). Anyway, I’ve been find with adding chipotle pepper, chili powder, smoked paprika and even Sriracha to stuff. I do it as minimally as I can stand, but if I eat even a little bit of fresh or canned peppers, my face breaks out, and I hate to think what’s going on inside my body. So keep that in mind with these two recipes. Both would be better with fresh peppers.

Also, due to my allergy, I drain my tomatoes with green chilis and pick out the chilis. It’s a lot of work. I don’t doubt this recipe would be just as good with the chilis in it, but I’ve been eating it without.

Image

So here we go, my new staple: Mexican Beef with Tomatoes, Kale and Spinach with Guacamole

Mexican Beef with Tomatoes, Kale and Spinach

2 lbs ground beef
2 cloves garlic, smashed and diced
½ onion
½ tbs butter or ghee
1 can tomatoes with green chilis, with juice
2 c fresh baby spinach, chopped
2 c fresh kale, chopped
1 c shredded cheese
Season with: Salt, black pepper, taco seasoning, smoked chipotle pepper, smoked paprika, chili powder, etc. I vary my seasonings every time, but really like salt, pepper and taco seasonings for this dish.

Cook the onion and garlic in the butter or ghee for a few minutes. Add the hamburger. When the hamburger is cooked almost all the way, add the tomatoes and juice. This is where I adjust my seasonings. As most of the juice cooks away, add the spinach and kale. Once that just starts to wilt, sprinkle in the cheese and stir.

I make 2 pounds of hamburger into 6 servings, perfect for one per day for a whole week.

Here are the loose macros on the meal. But remember, you’re getting lots of goodies from the grass-fed beef, kale and spinach.

Calories: 372
Carbs: 7
Fat: 25
Protein: 33

Guacamole

1 large avocado
½ small red onion, finely diced
1 tomato, diced (discard seeds and center)
1 tsp lime juice
salt and pepper
smoked paprika
Sriracha

Remember: I’m off peppers, but was excited that I didn’t even miss them with this. It’s a very simple recipe, but figured I’d add it in here. The avocados I had were huge, so I got five servings out of this.

Peel avocado, keep the pit.

Chop avocado and start to mash. I do this right on a cutting board, it’s easier than in a bowl. I add a squirt of lime juice, salt, pepper, paprika and Sriracha and mix everything together. You can add as much or as little Sriracha as you like. I love the smoky flavor of the smoked paprika, but it’s optional. Once the flavor’s good, I fold in the tomatoes and onions. Transfer to a glass bowl (I swear it keeps better) and put the pit in the bowl with the guacamole.

If you want it a little creamier, I’ve added just a tiny bit of sour cream or plain greek yogurt to mine before. In this case, the avocado was perfectly ripe and didn’t need anything else. But many prefer something a little extra.

Yum!

Macros:

Calories: 55
Carbs: 5
Fat: 4
Protein: 2

When I serve the two together, I warm up the hamburger and serve the guac on the side. I love the cold guac contrast with the hot (temp) of the hamburger. This little dish usually keeps me full far-longer than any of my other meals.

Image

Comments
  1. […] Mexican Hamburger with Kale, Spinach and Tomatoes and Hot Pepper-less Guacamole […]

Leave a Reply

