Coming Out Hot: Chicken, Avocado and Spinach Salad

Posted: March 2, 2012 in Recipes, Sandwich
Tags: , , , ,

I originally found this recipe on Pinterest, and it was originally an egg, avocado and spinach salad. However, I have recently discovered (or maybe even developed) a sensitivity to eggs. Weird, right? All these years, and suddenly I can’t eat eggs without my face breaking out like a teenager. Well, we can’t have that, so I redid this recipe using chicken instead of eggs. I also added some additional spices to the mix, which are also delcious with the egg salad (I did try the egg salad, prior to my knowledge of said sensitivity).

For my adjusted recipe, I use my beer butt chicken (recipe to come soon!) for the chicken, but you could also make this with grilled chicken breast or whatever you like. I generally roast an entire chicken on the weekends and use it throughout the week in meals. So this recipe was really easy for me since the chicken was already ready already (like Tropical Freezes).

Recipe

  • 1 cup diced chicken
  • 1 avocado
  • 2 tablespoons greek yogurt (plain)
  • 1 stalk celery, diced
  • 1 cup fresh spinach, roughly chopped
  • Garlic salt, black pepper, red pepper, smoked paprika
  • Splash of lime juice (optional)

First I mash the avocado with the greek yogurt until mostly smooth. Strangely, I use a pastry cutter for this. Don’t ask why. You can also use a fork, spoon or anything else. It’s not like avocados are hard to smash. I season this mixture with the garlic salt, black pepper, red pepper and smoked paprika. You can add the lime juice here if you’d like. I’ve had it with and without. I think lime juice gives everything a fresher taste. But if you don’t like it, leave it out. It’s also an attempt to keep the avocado from browning. I’m not sure if it helps or not. If you only have regular paprika, you can leave it out (or add it, I’m not the boss of you). The smoked paprika is the secret ingredient here. I’ve recently started using it and love it in absolutely everything. Well, not like on waffles. Not that I’ve tried.

Anyway, when that’s all mashed up, I add the chicken, celery and spinach. Then I toast some bread and have the most amazing chicken sandwich, ever. Seriously, I kept making and eating this stuff for almost a solid week. So good. I generally get two servings out of this, but since I’m only serving myself, I don’t like to make too much because when the avocados start to brown it doesn’t look as appetizing (although it still tastes good). I like to make an open sandwich with this or serve it with just a few crackers. But I’m trying to eat less carbs in the interest of saving my heart from high triglyceride-related fates. If you can eat all the carbs you want, I suggest getting some big ole pieces of seven grain bread and having the most fantastic sandwich you’ve ever eaten. Please post back to tell me how great it was. And I promise I’ll be crazy-jealous.

So that’s it! Um, hello, yum!

I can’t believe I didn’t get a picture of the pastry cutter in action! At this point it’s all mashed and I’ve switched to a fork (both for tasting, and for ease of stirring at the next step).

Adding spinach and celery.

Then the chicken. I can’t wait to share the beer butt chicken recipe. I thought I already had. For shame!

And here’s the finished meal. I just used one piece of bread here, which meant I ate a lot of the salad with a fork rather than on bread. But that was OK with me. Two pieces of bread would have been plenty to have two open-faced sandwiches. The spinach bulks up the serving size, so this much salad isn’t too much. Also, the salad? I’m working on mocking DeFazio’s salad dressing. I’m getting close! I’ll post what I have for a recipe soon. I like the recipe so much, I’ve pretty much stopped searching. But you could use it as a base and really try to crack the recipe, if you’d like. Report back on that front, too, of course.

Comments
  1. This sounds great! I can’t eat eggs either – I get a terrible stomach ache. Could be worse things like not being able to eat chocolate! lol Thanks for posting!

  2. Mere says:

    If you are wanting to cut carbs use lettuce leaves instead of bread. I prefer romain or any other nice leafy lettuce.

  3. […] Don’t get me wrong, shredded chicken has its place. It’s delicious on salads, in tacos, in an avocado-based chicken salad, or just plain old shredded chicken on a plate with sides. It’s versatile. But by the end of the […]

Leave a Reply

