Coming Out Hot! Whole Wheat Dinner Rolls

Posted: January 11, 2012 in Bread, Recipes
Tags: ,

Before you turn your back on this recipe, let me tell you. ALMOST everyone I’ve made this recipe for can’t tell these rolls have any whole wheat in them. Those who can, were likely basing it on the color of the rolls and their blanket disdain for all things whole wheat. Plus, this recipe came from a church cookbook from my dad’s hometown. I don’t want to be stereotypical, but when a cookbook has Mrs.(i.e. Mrs. John Smith) for the author, you know these woman have spent their lives homemaking. Which means best recipes, ever!

I dub you, “The Best Dinner Rolls In The History Of Dinner Rolls!”

I have been holding onto this recipe for so long this picture was taken in my old house. I kept delaying posting because the recipe was too long. Many recipes I can remember and type  up on the spot. Or I can copy and paste and change what I changed. But in this case, I had to copy it. From a paper copy of a recipe. Yes, apparently I’m THAT lazy. But for Christmas I made my sister and mom cookbooks, so I typed up the recipe. Suddenly… Hey you two birds, see this one stone?

So here it is. MY favorite dinner roll recipe. I’d make this over all white dinner rolls, by the way. It’s a good balance, and gives the rolls a little more consistency and kind of nutty flavor. I recommend King Arthur’s Whole Wheat Flour. I have a hard time finding it some places, but it’s worth it. Some other flour comes out grainy, almost like a cheap 7 grain or something. But this stuff is worth the cost. And the trip to Dillons if you don’t normally go there.

1 pkg yeast
¼ cup warm water                                    
¾ + 1/8 cup milk
2 eggs, beaten
½ c. mashed potatoes
¼ cup brown sugar                                   
½ tablespoon salt
2-2 ½ cups whole wheat flour
1 ½-2 cups all-purpose flour
1 ½ tablespoons oil
1-2 tablespoons vital wheat gluten

Mix ingredients in bread machine on the dough setting. Punch down and let rise a second time until doubled. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface. Roll out and cut into 24 portions with a pizza cutter, scissors or knife. Form into balls and place in two pans.

Cover and let rise until doubled in size, about 1 hour.

Bake at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until rolls sound hollow on knocking. Remove from oven and butter tops immediately. After slightly cooled, remove to rack. When cool enough to touch, separate to finish cooling, or serve.

Note: These freeze VERY WELL. Freeze individually (or in groups), wrapped in foil then placed in a freezer bag. Re-warm in the oven while still foil-wrapped. I also take these for my lunch and simply leave the foil-wrapped roll on my desk until lunch.

I believe the only thing I changed/added to this recipe was the vital wheat gluten. And I also halved the original recipe.

I love serving these rolls at big family meals, with soups or salads, and even as an alternative with pasta dishes since freezing them allows you to thaw exactly what you need. I’ve even halved them and put them under the broiler like french bread (after thawing, buttering and seasoning). So good. I’ve also broiled a thawed roll with garlic salt and cheese. Dipped in marinara, a great substitute for cheese breadsticks!

So there you have it, readers. The BEST roll recipe, ever. And I know by saying this repeatedly someone will try to out-do me with a better recipe. To that I say, “Sure, I’ll make more rolls!”

Comments
  1. I have been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

