Coming Out Hot! Beef and Barley

Posted: July 12, 2011 in Freezer, Recipes, Soup
Tags: , , , , , ,

I made this recipe a LONG time ago, and thought I’d posted about it. If I had more pictures, I apologize but I can’t find them. For some reason I’ve had a strange craving for soup this past week. This makes no sense because it’s literally 110 degrees here. But nonetheless, I wanted beef and barley and couldn’t find the recipe on my site. And I think it was good enough to make sure it secures a spot in infamy. This recipe is a nice twist on hamburger vegetable soup. It’s loaded with vegetables, and the barley gives it an interesting texture. It’s a nice change of pace, and freezes very well. All for under 300 calories per bowl. BOOM!

I built this recipe based on a few other recipes, and then my own taste for vegetables I like in my soup. I took the general idea for the base (beef broth, tomatoes, barley) and loaded it up with veggies. I came across barley one day as a good health food to add to a dish. And I thought I could easily add it to vegetable soup, or replace pasta in a soup with it. It’s kind of a mix between rice and pasta. Chewier in consistency than rice, and gives you almost a pasta feel. And it’s a good source of fiber, selenium, phosphorus, copper and manganese. Everybody wins!

So here it is! I recommend trying it! Add and remove the veggies you like/dislike.

Beef Barley Soup

1 pound ground beef
1 clove garlic
1 onion, chopped
2 teaspoons oregano
2 cans of tomatoes, either buy puree or puree with a blender
8 cups beef broth
1 sweet pepper (green, red, yellow)
2 medium carrots
2 stalks celery
1 bay leaf
1 medium potato, chopped into small pieces
½ container (approx 5 oz) spinach, finely chopped
1 cup broccoli, finely diced
1 cup cauliflower, finely diced
2/3 Cup barley, uncooked

Brown beef with onion and garlic. Season with salt and pepper and add oregano. Drain meat and add to a soup pan. Add pureed tomatoes, potato, sweet pepper, carrots, celery, bay leaf, broccoli, cauliflower, barley, and beef broth to pan. Cook until barley is tender. Add spinach 5 minutes before serving. Allow to cool and pour in freezer containers.

Makes six servings. Per serving data:

Calories: 293
Fat: 3.5
Fiber: 12.75
Protein: 27.5

Leave a Reply

