Coming Out Hot! Sweet Potato and Black Bean Enchiladas

Posted: June 24, 2011 in Casserole, Freezer, Recipes
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve hit a lull lately in the recipes I make. I seem to be falling into a routine, reusing the same recipes over and over. For those who don’t know, I’m a big fan of freezing my own meals. I use them all the time for lunches, and even occasionally for dinner. I LOVE it. I can be in the kitchen cooking for a day or a few evenings, then have lunches to last me months. But like I said, I’ve been having trouble lately finding something new. And healthy. Then I ran across a recipe for butternut squash enchiladas. They sounded good but I figured they’d be better kept for fall. And searched for sweet potato enchiladas instead. After several tweaks to make the recipe a little more figure-friendly, I think I’ve come up with a winner!

This looks like something straight out of an unhealthy Mexican restaurant, right? Well, it tastes more sinful than it is.

I think this is the original sweet potato enchilada recipe I used. I tend to be bad about altering recipes, especially when I’m in calorie-mode. I either want to add something to give it more of a boost. Or alter something to get more out of it for the calories. In this case, the recipe was way too high in calories, and didn’t produce high enough in the protein or fiber category. I mean, how’s a girl going to stay full? But don’t worry. I think my recipe was as delicious as the original! Maybe more since I more than doubled most of the spices and enchilada sauce!

But we’re getting ahead of ourselves. Here’s my recipe!

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds (32 oz) sweet potatoes
  • 1 (8 ounce) package fat free cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth
  • 2 cans black beans, drained
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • 3 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin (optional)
  • 2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground black pepper
  • ½ tsp cayenne pepper
  • 12 corn tortillas, cut into triangles
  • 3 cans green enchilada sauce
  • 1 can Rotel, drained
  • 7 oz shredded Monterey Jack cheese

Instructions:

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil over medium heat, and boil the sweet potatoes until tender. Drain (but don’t let cool – the heat of the potatoes helps melt the cream cheese).
  2. Place the sweet potatoes back in the pot, and mash them with the cream cheese, green onions, Rotel, chili powder, cumin, oregano, cayenne, salt, and pepper until well mixed. I used the chicken broth to get a well-mixed, smooth consistency. You could probably do the same thing with the juice from the Rotel, if you don’t have chicken broth on hand. Just separate the tomatoes from the juice and add as much juice as you need. Add the beans and mix well.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C), and grease a 13×9 inch baking dish.
  4. Layer the filling and tortillas in a manner similar to a lasagna. Pour one can of enchilada sauce over the mixture about halfway through. Pour final two cans of enchilada sauce over top layer, and sprinkle with Monterey Jack cheese.
  5. Bake in the preheated oven for 40-45 minutes, until the enchiladas are bubbling and the cheese is beginning to brown.

This time around I forgot onions all together, but I actually think this recipe would be good with a regular onion instead of green onions. Although I think green would have been good, too.

2 pounds of sweet potatoes, scrubbed clean

I cubed them and left the peels on because I always leave the peels with potato-based stuff. If you want to peel you can either do it before or cook the potatoes whole and scoop out the middles.

Cooked and drained potatoes with cubed fat free cream cheese. I’m a big fan of fat free cream cheese in almost all instances, especially in a case like this where you won’t really get to taste it but it’ll add a hint of creaminess.

And here we are. I mixed the potatoes, cream cheese and some chicken broth to get to a good, creamy consistency. And for some reason I got caught up in taste testing because I don’t show adding tomatoes, spices OR the beans. But I added the spices as I have them listed, then taste tested. I kept thinking something was missing, and it ended up being salt. I tried to adjust my salt to what I actually used, but my advice is to add slowly and test as you go. I drained AND rinsed my beans before adding them. Then gave them a quick mix with my hand mixer to stir everything together.

Here’s me starting layers. Apparently this was focused work, becuase I don’t have another picture until the end!

Here she is, topped with cheese. I shredded my own Monterey Jack. And I have to say, there’s some weird something in pre-shredded cheese. It’s not the same as shredding your own. In the interest of saving calories I only put seven ounces of cheese in. But if you’re willing to splurge, go ahead and do all eight.

Oh, hell yeah!

I actually ended up having this with shredded lettuce and homemade salsa (which I didn’t take pictures of). But I had leftovers at lunch without either and it’s good plain, too.

One for the road. Caliente! OK, it’s not hot. I don’t know what came over me.

Is this combo to weird for you? What would you have mixed instead of black beans? Or in addition to? I considered doing shredded chicken, but liked the idea of going vegetarian (minus the chicken broth I guess). I feel like I rely too much on meat when I don’t even like it that much.

Leave a Reply

