COMING OUT HOT! Ooey Gooey Caramel Bars

Posted: February 28, 2011 in Desserts, Recipes
Tags: , , , , , ,

On Super Bowl Sunday, I was unprepared to bring a snack. I’d put off and put off choosing because I wasn’t sure what I wanted to make. This left me scrolling through pictures of cookies and whatnot looking for something that caught my attention. No one will be surprised I stopped at a recipe for “caramel bars.” Although others might be surprised I made them even though they had chocolate in them.


How can a person NOT like caramel? It’s inhumane.

So, I was way unprepared for the time I needed to make these. Well, not the time to make them, the time for them to cool. So I’ll warn you I DON’T have a finished product picture. But all the same, I’ll tell you these were delicious. And for me, a person who doesn’t love chocolate, if I made them again, I’d make them sans-chocolate and they’d probably be just as good. But for someone who does like chocolate, you’ll love these as well.

I got this recipe from allrecipes.com and made it almost exactly. I used Ghirardelli chocolate chips because of all the chocolate, I like theirs the best. And I used old fashioned oats. I’m not sure what the difference is between old fashioned, rolled, and steel cut. But old fashioned is what I had on-hand. Next time I’ll make extra caramel and eat it by the spoonful.

Ingredients

  • 32 individually wrapped caramels, unwrapped
  • 5 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). In a medium saucepan over low heat, melt together the caramels and heavy cream, stirring occasionally until smooth.
  2. In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, oats, brown sugar, baking soda and salt. Stir in the melted butter until well blended. Press Half of the mixture into the bottom of a 9×13 inch baking pan. Reserve the rest.
  3. Bake the crust for 8 minutes in the preheated oven. Remove and sprinkle with chocolate chips and walnuts. Pour the caramel mixture over the top and then crumble the remaining crust mixture over everything.
  4. Return to the oven and bake for an additional 12 minutes, or until the top is lightly toasted. Cut into squares while it is still warm.

The crust was really easy to make. You mix up the crust. Put half on bottom. Bake it. Add the caramel, nuts and chocolate, add the other half of the crust and bake again. Simple!

Yes, I did want to eat this stuff raw. No, I didn’t eat too much of it. That would be embarrassing. “Sorry there’s only melted chocolate and nuts. I ate everything else.”

Press it into the bottom of the pan and bake. At first I was afraid there wouldn’t be enough because it didn’t cover the bottom of the pan. But it puffed right up during baking. Perfection! (This is the baked product, I think.)

While the crust was baking, I unwrapped and made the caramel. This was my first time making caramel. Um. YUM!

Then you sprinkle on the chocolate chips and chopped nuts.

Of course I took a picture after pouring on the caramel. After this you put the remaining crust on top and bake again.

I failed to consider giving these things time to cool. So I cut them while they were still warm, which ended up with one big caramel bar on a plate because they setup after I took them out of the pan. They got raving reviews, and the next day I realized this is a recipe similar (or identical??) to one Karla’s made before, and has made for me sans chocolate. She calls them “ooey gooey bars.” Which, since there is chocolate in them, seems more appropriate. But who am I to say what a recipe should be named!

Leave a Reply

