Coming Out Hot! Chicken and Rice

Posted: February 18, 2011 in Casserole, Meat Dish, Recipes
Tags: , , , , , ,

It seems like all I’ve eaten since it’s cooled off is soup or stew or chili or something very similar. I decided I wanted something different, and Mom suggested chicken and rice. I actually wasn’t a huge fan of the dish when I was younger, but I think it was a combination of the spices used and too much sour cream. Plus, it’s been at least eight years since I’ve had it, so who knows. Maybe it’ll be my new favorite!

Cheese and rice that looks delicious!

There are lots of ways you can cook the chicken for this dish. I generally cook my chicken either on the grill or in a crockpot. I don’t really like chicken cooked stovetop for some reason. Anyway, I threw a few chicken breasts in a crockpot with some water, seasonings (chili powder, cayenne, garlic powder, Italian seasonings, black pepper), an onion, some carrots, a green pepper and several cloves of garlic. Then let it cook on low all day.

When I got home I strained the stock to keep for later (I threw in a few bouillon cubes). And threw out everything else but the chicken, which I diced/shredded.

I ended up with about 1 1/2 cups of chicken. So here’s my recipe:

1 1/2 cups of cubed/shredded cooked chicken
2 cups of cooked brown rice
1 can of Rotel
1 onion
1 can of green chilis
12 ounces of light sour cream
1 can of black olives, sliced or diced
1 cup of shredded cheese

Mix together the chicken, rice and Rotel. Add seasonings (cumin, paprika, parsley, basil, salt, black pepper, garlic powder, chili powder, etc.) until it’s a flavor you like. I also added in some French fry seasoning, but that’s a different story.

Spray an 8 or 9 inch casserole dish and add half of the rice mixture. Then spread half of the sour cream, half of the chilis, half of the black olives and half of the cheese on top. Repeat.

Bake in an oven at 350 degrees for about a half an hour.

Garnish with lettuce, tomatoes, avocados, salsa, etc. You can also wrap this mixture in a warm tortilla. Enjoy!

The cubed/shredded chicken. It was a little dry. But that’s because I worked a LONG day. And it was good in the final product.

Here’s my brown rice. Which, by the way, is the FIRST non-instant rice I’ve ever made that hasn’t been: 1. burnt to the bottom of the pan 2. undercooked 3. still sitting in water 4. mushy. It was PERFECT! About the only good thing that’s happened to me this week.

Add the Rotel. I drained mine, but you want to leave the juices in. See the next few steps.

Chop and add an onion to the rice, along with the chicken.

Then stir it all about! This is where you season to YOUR taste.


From the bottom up: Chicken/rice mixture. Sour cream. Green chilis. Black olives. Cheese.Then repeat the same layers a second time.

Here it is fresh out of the oven. It probably wouldn’t have hurt it to cook a little longer, but the cheese was melty and everything was warm. So good enough!

This is where I burn my mouth on a bite I decided to sneak.

Garnished with avocado it was delicious. I wish I had some lettuce, but I think the avocado and salsa are a must.

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    YUM! This is my all time favorite Mom meal.. Well, okay, I have quite a few of those, but this one is sooooooooo good! Seriously, the combination of everything makes for a truly yummy dish! If I’m making rice I usually use the box minute rice and cook it in the microwave, it almost always turns out!

  2. Jeanette says:

    I love that “cheese and rice” made it to the caption. Makes my heart sing.

Leave a Reply

