Neives’ – 119 East 9th Avenue (Winfield)

Posted: February 1, 2011 in 67156, Mexican, Restaurant
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Tidings of comfort and joy! I hope everyone’s staying warm. Today I decided to bring you my warmest of reviews, Neives’. A friend of mine said he’d heard Neives’ has the BEST white queso, likening it to angel semen (sorry for the visual). How can a girl NOT want to try the BEST queso, ever? Especially this cheese-addicted girl. I was so in. And it took very little time to put together a road-tripping entourage. And, honestly, it was a very quick trip from east Wichita.

Life is good.

All I can say is if you like Mexican, this place is worth the trip. Plus, how nice is it to get out of town occasionally? And Winfield’s a cute little town. I wish I could live in a town like that (and magically commute to work everyday). The trip’s easy, Kellogg to 77, then a straight shot into Winfield.

I looked a little online and saw good reviews about the Chickenacho (all one word), so that’s what I was leaning toward before even getting there. Then the waitress suggested it. So I got the fried chickenacho, which is a flour tortilla rolled with chicken, cheese and pico. Then topped with none other than the white queso. Yum. And let me tell you the prices are VERY reasonable.

The restaurant itself is really cute, and we got friendly small-town service. That’s a compliment. I grew up in a small town. And my dad grew up in an even SMALLER town. I’m a sucker for small town treatment. Well, except for the gossip. But that’s another story.

Long story short. GO! Take me with you, please. I would go back today. Blizzard conditions and all.

Des got Neives’ Wrap.

Lyndsey got the Combination Dinner.

And Jeanette got the Enchilada Dinner. All three also gave good reviews of the deliciousness.

I mean, really. How cute is this place?

And the famous Chickenacho. YUM!

What are you waiting for? Start planning your trip! The anticipation’s half the fun!

Neives' Mexican Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Comments
  1. Lyndsey says:

    MMMMM I’ll be daydreaming about it the rest of the afternoon.

Leave a Reply

