COMING OUT HOT! Egg Cupcakes

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Breakfast, Freezer, Recipes
Tags: , , , ,

I’ll be the first to admit, the title of this recipe is deceptive. And makes me want cake. But so far I haven’t been able to come up with a better definition. Egg Muffins makes me think of something with an English muffin. So we’ll stick with cupcakes… For now. As we all know, I don’t commit permanently to anything.

“I look like a cupcake, but unlike Rihanna, there’s nothing battered about me.”

I’m trying to get more into freezer cooking this year. Especially with breakfasts and lunches. My goal is to NOT eat out as much as I do now for convenience’s sake. Mostly for health reasons, but also because eating out is such a waste of money. But, I don’t like cereal or anything like that for breakfast. I may as well not eat. Even if it’s high-fiber, high-protein cereal. And even if I’d LIKE to, I never take the time to make something more filling like eggs. And once I stopped drinking diet pop, eating just peanut butter toast was no longer as much of  a treat. For awhile I lived on breakfast burritos made with homemade whole wheat tortillas. Which were delicious, by the way. I also went through a phase of eggs, sausage and cheese on homemade whole wheat English muffins. Also delicious, but more of a chore to heat up (I’d take them apart, toast the English muffin and warm up everything else). This time I wanted a new idea so I can get more variety in my freezer. Enter: Egg cupcakes (I got the inspiration from another site)!

So what are these little guys? They remind me of a quiche without a crust. And they’re AWESOME! I usually have two along with two pieces of light whole wheat bread with peanut butter. And they keep me more full than any of my other breakfasts, were easy to make, and are really easy to reheat.

Here’s my recipe:

Egg Cupcakes

1 cup broccoli, chopped
½ onion
16 slices turkey bacon, cooked and chopped
Salt, pepper and garlic salt
Cayenne pepper
1 medium potato, diced
1 green pepper
1 can Rotel tomatoes, drained well
2 boxes egg substitute (4 c)
1 cup fat-free cheese, shredded

Preheat oven 350. Grease cupcake tins. Cook potatoes and dice.  Steam broccoli (I only use the tops of broccoli) 5-7 minutes, let cool then finely dice. Stir together all ingredients except eggs . Season with salt, garlic salt, black pepper, cayenne pepper. Fill each cupcake tin about three fourths full with mixture. Pour egg substitute over vegetables in muffin tins. Bake 20 minutes. Allow to cool completely on a cookie rack, then wrap each cupcake in plastic wrap, place in freezer storage bag, and store in freezer. Warm up in microwave when ready to eat.

And here’s the nutritional facts per cupcake (I made two muffin pans worth (so 24 total)):

Calories: 61
Fat: 1.7 grams
Fiber: .475
Protein: 7.28

Like I said, I eat two (122 calories), two pieces of light whole wheat bread (100 calories for 2 slices) and about 1 Tbs of peanut butter (another 100 calories). A total 322 calories for breakfast. Not too bad! And the good thing is you could mix these up to be whatever veggies and meats you like. I think the potatoes and broccoli are filling. And I personally need the onions and tomatoes when I have eggs. Next time I’ll probably use turkey sausage instead of bacon because I’m getting worn out on bacon. Other than that I’ve also considered adding mushrooms, spinach, etc.

My mostly-full tins (this is my version of 3/4 full).

Fill the tins almost to the very top with egg substitute. (I get mine from Aldi!)

I cooked for 20 minutes. You’ll be able to tell when they setup. I slightly undercooked mine because the microwave will finish up the job when you heat them up.

Comments
  1. Lyndsey says:

    I WANT THESE NOW!

  2. Kelly says:

    I made turkey sausage and spinach (instead of turkey bacon and broccoli) last night. Still perfect! And I’m more of a fan of sausage, so I think I liked them better. I would have still done broccoli, but I used all of what I had in my lasagna….

Leave a Reply

