COMING OUT HOT! Thanksgiving Apple Pie

Posted: December 6, 2010 in Desserts, Recipes
Tags: , , , ,

Well, Thanksgiving is long gone. But dreams of my apple pie aren’t. I’ve been making apple pie for Thanksgiving since I was in high school and randomly ran into a friend’s mom at Dillons on Thanksgiving Eve. I don’t have a clue why I was there. I wasn’t buying food. I was actually getting something for my friend’s hair I was crimping in E1 at Pizza Hut. Hey, I was 17. Don’t ask.

Anyway, she was getting stuff for an apple pie (and probably other stuff) and she rattled off the recipe for apple pie and then told me I should make one. So I did. The rest is history.

Here’s my loosely written recipe (all amounts are general, use more or less – I’ve never measured):

  • 2 pie crusts (I tried making my own, I didn’t think the extra work was worth it so I do premade)
  • About 3 lbs of apples. I personally use Jonathan or Jongold (sold in Colwich, America, and recommended by an employee there). The only apple I stay away from completely are delicious ones. Apparently they aren’t made to be put in pies (according to Mom). And I’m always happy with Jonathan.
  • Sugar = 1 cup
  • Cinnamon – 1/8 cup
  • Brown sugar – 1/2-3/4 cup
  • Flour – 1/2 cup
  • Butter (I chop into small pieces) – One stick
  • Egg (for an egg white egg wash)

Peel and chop the apples into pretty small pieces (the smaller they are, the faster they’ll cook). Put a layer of apples in the bottom of the crust. Then pour in sugar, brown sugar, pieces of butter, sprinkle of flour, and sprinkle of cinnamon. Work your way up in layers until your apples are gone. The pie should be mounded over with apples because they reduce as they cook. So pile them on there. Then take your second crust and place it over top of the pie. Cut slits in it so steam can escape. My aunt says lots of ladies put a lot of pride into the decoration of the top of their crust. I don’t. But feel free.

Line a cookie sheet that has raised edges with foil and set your pie on top of it. Trust me, this pie WILL bubble over. Don’t worry, that means you’ve done good work. So you want a pan under it. Then you can peel off the foil and not even have to wash the pan!

Bake at 400 degrees for an hour or so. But make sure you check it every fifteen minutes or so. You don’t want your crust to burn (but you want it to brown). If the edges brown first and the middle’s still not brown, put foil around the edges and let the center of the crust bake. Once the entire crust is brown enough, cover the top with foil. Cook until you can put a knife in it and it’s soft (the apples will not be firm at all).

I like lots of cinnamon in my pie, so I probably sprinkle generously. And I’m pretty generous with the flour, too, because that’s what makes the filling setup rather than being runny (I like my pie nice and setup). When it feels like the pie’s ready to be taken out I make an egg wash (sometimes I do just egg white, other times I do egg white mixed with a little water). Brush it on the pie then sprinkle with sugar and bake for about another 10 minutes or so. If your crust is really close to burning, drop the temp in the oven to 300 or so degrees for the last part.

Serve with an ungodly amount of whipped cream. ENJOY! Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

