Thanksgiving Eve Day – Chili Cookoff!

Posted: November 24, 2010 in Bread, Breakfast, Desserts, Recipes
Tags: , , , , , , ,

My department at work is having a chili cookoff today. My white chili and red chili recipes are boring. So I opted to make a side. Cinnamon Twists! You might remember this recipe from an older post. Well, I made them again today!

“Good day. I’m here to stretch your stomach on this, the holiest of days. Thanksgiving Eve.”

I made the dough last night. I let it rise once in the dough cycle on the machine, then rise a second time after. I wrapped it tightly in cellophane, and stuck it in the fridge. This morning I got up and set the dough out for about 45 minutes then rolled it out. This time I cut it into shorter strips and ran them length-wise so there appear to be more servings (same amount of dough, just cut into smaller pieces). My house and car smelled the way I imagine heaven will. So far, rave reviews!

This time I mixed some brown sugar in with the white sugar and cinnamon. And it was early so I over-poured, leaving LOTS leftover. I dumped all of the extras on top. And again drizzled the post-oven results with the remaining butter. Are these healthy? Nope. But they’re awesome.

More to come on how the chili cookoff goes. We have several crockpots going full speed right now.

Today is the greatest day I’ve ever known. Well, until tomorrow.

Imagine how great my house smelled at 7AM. Let me tell you, this is the way a house should smell every morning if calories weren’t evil.

Leave a Reply

