Ate lunch at Playa today. It was delicious. So delicious, in fact, that I forgot to take pictures. Gasp! Sorry. So what did I get that’s brought me here even without pictures? I had their fajita taco salad. Or something with a similar name. It was probably the best taco salad I’ve had since JJ’s Corner in Colwich, America! (Which no longer exists, and hasn’t for awhile, sadly.) Fresh made taco salad shell, which is open on the front for easier eating. Plus fifteen points. Instead of ground beef taco meat (they do have a salad that way), this one has steak or chicken fajita meat (I had steak). Plus five points. And fajita onions and peppers. Plus ten points! Then I think it’s topped with cheese sauce. Plus eight points. Followed by lettuce, tomatoes, sour cream, cheese, and guacamole. Plus fifty-eight points. Hell yeah. This puppy was perfection! Perfection to the tune of what? I don’t know. Like 96 points. Out of how many? It doesn’t matter. All that matters is it was good!

Yes, better than OTB’s taco salad with honey mustard and ranch. Or however you order it, Karla. So much better. Trust a sister. Or come with me next time to get one!

Playa Azul on Urbanspoon

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    Kelly, first I’d like to add, NOTHING tops OTB’s taco salad with honey mustard and ranch. But, this salad seems pretty darn similar to El Portal’s (here in Shen, IA) taco salad and it’s pretty darn awesome! And, it’s one of the cheaper things on the menu (I’m not sure why? it’s HUGE)! Either way, so jealous!

  2. Kelly says:

    The last time I had OTB’s taco salad it wasn’t good. I didn’t even eat a fourth of it. Not sure if they changed their meat, the entire salad, or if I’ve just outgrown the taste?

    And I liked this one because it was fajita steak with sauteed onions and peppers. I still eat ground beef on regular tacos, but it’s possible that change was also why I liked it b/c those things were so delicious!

Leave a Reply

