COMING OUT HOT! Crockpot White Chili

Posted: November 22, 2010 in Recipes, Soup
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love soup. And I love that I’m not married so I can make soup all the time (most guys don’t think soup’s a meal, I think most men are crazy!). Anyway, a long time ago I made white chili that was awesome, but I’ve never been able to find the recipe. So I decided to start from scratch with a new recipe. I looked online at several recipes to get a base idea of what to use, and formed my own recipe. Most were a basic blend of chicken, chicken broth and northern beans. And of course I want mine spicy!

I’m dreaming of a white chili. Just like the one I used to know.

So here’s my recipe (the numbers in parentheses are calories for that item):

  • 1 (15 ounce) can great northern beans, drained (280)
  • 8 ounces chicken breasts, frozen (240)
  • 1 box/4 cups chicken broth (40)
  • 1 onion, chopped (64)
  • 1 small green pepper, chopped (33)
  • 1 can tomatoes with chilies or jalapenos (drained and lightly rinsed – so the soup doesn’t turn red) (50)
  • 2 jalapenos, diced (remove seeds if you don’t want spicy) (8)
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced (12)
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 tablespoon Italian seasonings
  • 1 tsp white pepper
  • ½ tsp cayenne pepper (omit if you don’t want spicy)
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube (15)
  • 2 drops Dave’s insanity sauce (omit if you don’t want spicy)

I threw everything into the crockpot, and cooked on high for 3 hours. I pulled out the chicken breast and shredded it and threw it back in and cooked it on low until I was ready to eat. The smells are divine. And the simplicity of the soup is perfect. I garnish mine with shredded cheddar cheese and eat it with crushed tortilla chips.

A few notes: I drained and lightly rinsed my rotel only because I didn’t want the soup to lose its white color. But I felt like it needed tomatoes. You could dump in the tomatoes undrained if you prefer. Or use fresh tomatoes. I added the cayanne pepper and Dave’s Insanity Sauce specifically because it didn’t have enough spice for me. The bouillon cube is also an addition at close to the end because I felt like the soup was a little bland. You could also use more salt instead of the cube if you don’t like it. Or garlic salt. Or other seasonings that bring up the flavor.

The original recipe called for three cans of beans. I thought this was outrageous. While it was cooking I felt like I should have done more chicken and beans. But once it was done I thought it was perfect as listed.

This made about five bowls at 150 calories a piece (before garnishes).

This picture makes me want more. NOW!

Yuh-hum!

ENJOY!

Comments

Leave a Reply

