Books, Check ‘Em Out! Land of Plenty

Posted: November 16, 2010 in Cookbook, Oriental
Tags: ,

I just ordered (from Amazon) Fuchsia Dunlop’s Land of Plenty. I’ve read a lot of reviews about the book, and it sounds like it’s amazing. I planned to leaf through the book at Barnes and Noble or Borders before purchasing. But this morning I thought, “What the hell?” And bought it. I can’t wait to try it! Of course, promptly after hitting “submit” I realized I should have checked a few used bookstores around town. Damn it. Oh well, too late. Next time.

Hopefully I’ll be able to put together a full meal (appetizer, entree, side and dessert) out of this book for the next dinner and wine night. Katie, Des and I get together every few months. And the next one’s mine to host. Hopefully since I have a decent stock of ingredients from my semi-recent trip to Lucky Market, I won’t have to buy too many ingredients! If anyone’s used this book and has suggestions for what to try (or avoid), let me know. Remember: We’re cooking AND drinking wine. Although, I’ve read the recipes are fairly simple.

I’ll keep you up to date on how this progresses. In the meantime, stay perched on the edge of your seat.

Comments
  1. […] wine and cook, and finally drink more wine. Good times are had by all. I’d been wanting The Land of Plenty cookbook for a while, so this was my excuse to buy it. I immediately felt in over my […]

  2. Novel says:

    Well, I’m going to check this one out as I love to cook! Thanks for your blog!

Leave a Reply

