COMING OUT HOT! Ramped Up Sour Cream Sanchos

Posted: November 5, 2010 in Casserole, Meat Dish, Recipes

My mom has a super-easy, no-fail, crowd pleasing sour cream sancho recipe that’s simple, inexpensive, and because it reminds me of being young, is comfort food. I have recently been trying to find a way to sneak vegetables (yes, apparently I am a six year old child) into otherwise veggie-free fare. In today’s installment of “make it a little healthier,” I’ve made some changes to the recipe, and feel like we had success!

Here’s the original recipe (which I recommend, especially if you have kids):

1 lb ground beef
1 onion (optional)
1 can refried beans
1 16 oz container sour cream
1 can of condensed cheese soup or cheese sauce
1 package of tortillas

Brown the hamburger however you like it. I always brown mine with an onion, garlic, salt, pepper, and then I season mine with chili powder because I don’t like taco seasoning. But if you do, season with that. Then add the refried beans and mix.

In a separate bowl mix the sour cream and cheese soup. Add one cup (approximately) of the meat mix to the sour cream sauce. Fill the tortillas with meat, fold and line up in a greased 9X13 pan. If you have leftover meat, put it in the sour cream sauce. Pour the sauce over the filled sanchos. Cover with foil. And bake for about 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees (until bubbly).

Garnish with whatever you have around and like: lettuce, tomato, onions, black olives, shredded cheese, salsa, guacamole, etc.

For my revamped recipe I didn’t have cheese soup around, so I replaced it with cream of chicken soup and shredded cheddar. That made the calorie count go up a decent amount (one can of cheese soup is around 300 calories, a can of 98% fat free cream of chicken is 175, but the cheese was around 400). And I didn’t like it better. Next time I’m at Dillons I’ll stock up on cheese soup/sauce.

Revamped recipe (I mention the specific types of stuff only for comparison of calorie counts):

1 lb ground beef (90% lean)
1 can refried beans (fat free)
1 onion (roughly diced)
1 green pepper (finely diced)
1 carrot (finely diced)
2 cayanne peppers
1 bag spinach (finely chopped)
1 can diced tomatoes with chiles, drained
1 can sour cream
1 can cream of chicken soup (98% fat free)
16 oz sour cream (light)
4 oz cheddar cheese, shredded
whole wheat tortillas*

I start by sauteing the garlic, onion, green pepper, carrot, and cayenne pepper. Then I add in the ground beef and brown until done and stir in the refried beans, half of the can of tomatoes and half of the spinach (don’t worry, the spinach wilts down). I season this to taste with salt, pepper, chili powder and garlic powder. (If you’re going to freeze portions, go lighter on the salt. I read things get saltier when you freeze them.)

Then I mix the sour cream, cream of chicken soup, cheddar cheese (or replace the cream of chicken soup and shredded cheddar with a can of cheese soup), other half of the diced tomatoes and the rest of the spinach.

I fill the whole wheat tortillas with meat mix. I ended up portioning them out into one sancho per plastic storage container. And top with equal amounts of sour cream. In this case, I didn’t even bother cooking in the oven, since I’ll be taking them to work for lunches.

Here’s my whole wheat tortilla recipe:

2 c whole wheat flour
1/2 c all purpose flour
1/ 2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1/4 c olive oil
3/4 c boiling water

In my Kitchen Aid mixer, first I mix the flours, salt and baking soda using the regular attachment. Then I add the oil and mix until it’s incorporated (the mix is still dry). I switch to my dough hook and add the boiling water. After it’s mostly mixed, mine seems to be in pieces so I’ll take it out and knead it for a moment until all of the flour’s incorporated, and it’s in one dough ball. I stick it back in the mixer and let the mixer knead it for about 8-10 minutes. I portion it out into 10 or 11 balls. Let this sit for at least an hour (letting it rest makes it roll out easier).

I heat a cast iron skillet over medium/medium-high heat (a 6 or 7 on my stove). And roll out the dough as thin as I can get it (or the size of the cast iron skillet). Put one tortilla in the skillet and let it sit until bubbles start to form, then flip. Watch until bubbles start to form again (in this case, the dough starts to raise up). They cook quickly (probably about 30 seconds per side – you spend more time rolling out a tortilla than it takes to cook). I always let mine cool on a cookie rack because I’m afraid they’ll get soggy, and because I use them right away.

Enjoy!

And I love this recipe because it doesn’t use shortening or lard like store-bought tortillas do. Plus, whole wheat flour and no preservatives? Sign me up!

If you make 10 tortillas and make 10 sanchos, each sancho has around 375-400 calories. Not bad for a meal. Plus the extra veggies and beans keep you full for a decent amount of time.

Looks as good as anything in a Mexican restaurant, right? Except my ingredients didn’t undergo a very lenient five second rule. (That was sarcasm.)

Anyone have other veggie ideas I could have stuffed into these sanchos? I want to avoid anything too watery. But maybe zucchini, FINELY diced broccoli (that’s fully cooked so it won’t mess with consistency), maybe cauliflower?

Comments
  1. Kendra says:

    That does look good. I’ve also used the canned cheese in place of the cheese soup, I couldn’t find it at the store one time so I grabbed on of those small cans of cheese (you know what I’m talking about? Like that HUGE can of cheese we use to get and eat with the BIG bag of chips from Sams? But just like a small can, like a soup can). (:

    I’m totally gonna add more veggies next time I make mine. I have to sneak them in for Preston (he’s a raw veggie sorta guy — like salads, or them dipped in ranch) and sometimes for Maya too.

    • Kelly says:

      The trick? Chop them up really small and put them in the inside of the tortilla! I even have to trick myself sometimes.

      You can also cook them so they’re soft then blend them up in the blender or food processor to hide them better and not mess with consistency.

      And, yes, I HAVE used cheese sauce/dip or whatever it’s called in place of the cheese soup. I think I actually like that better. But it seems to be hit and miss whether the store has that stuff.

      I miss summers with the big can of cheese dip and the giant box of tortilla chips! Oh, and the big soft pretzels. YUM!

Leave a Reply

