COMING OUT HOT! Pumpkin Pancakes

Posted: November 3, 2010 in Breakfast, Recipes
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’ve been eating on my frozen whole wheat waffles for a few months now. I mostly ate them on weekends as a treat, but decided rather than saving the waffles for special occasions, I should make something I can eat everyday. And it’s fall. So pumpkin pancakes were the perfect solution!

Mmmmmm…. Fluffy, yummy, pumpkiny pancakes

The only thing I changed with the recipe I found is I replaced the whole milk with skim milk, and white flour with whole wheat.

  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/3 cups skim milk
  • 3/4 cup canned pure pumpkin
  • 4 large eggs, separated
  • 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • Mix together the dry ingredients. (Pumpkin pie spice is 2 parts cinnamon, 1 part ginger, and 1/2 parts of both cloves and nutmeg.)  In a separate bowl mix the wet ingredients (remember to keep the egg whites separate). Add the wet ingredients to the dry, mixing until just-mixed. If you remember right, Mom’s secret to fluffy, not-tough pancakes is NOT over-mixing.
    Then we get to Jeanette’s grandma’s trick for fluffy pancakes: egg whites! I’d never heard of using egg whites to make pancakes and waffles fluffy, so I specifically searched for a recipe that used this technique.  Put the egg whites in a bowl and start beating with an electric mixer until peaks form. Gently fold the egg whites into the batter.
    Grease a pan heated over medium heat. Drop pancakes to your size preference into the pan and let them cook until bubbles have formed across the entire pancake. Flip and cook until the other side is done. I ended up making smaller pancakes and wrapping them in pairs in plastic wrap. Then storing them in a freezer bag.
    They heat up OK in the microwave. I kind of wish I’d made them a little bigger (and made one per serving) so I could pop them in the toaster because they’re a little dry. I’m not sure the toaster would fix that… Anyway, they’re good despite being dry. I mostly eat them with pure maple syrup, although I know a thin coat of butter would probably also help with being dry.
    Wet ingredients, minus egg whites.
    Whisk, whisk, whisk. Whisk those wet ingredients.
    Dry ingredients. Remember: I always weigh my whole wheat flour. Pancakes are no different. I ended up adding in 1 Tbs of vital wheat gluten, which helps in the raising of wheat bread. I’m not sure if it would or does do anything to something like pancakes. I need to do more research.
    And two become one.
    Stir until just-mixed. No more. No less. Perfection is key. OK, that’s a little much. But to be perfectly honest, I’m a perfectionist.
    This is where I think of Jeanette’s grandma. Never met the lady, but grandmas know best when it comes to cooking. Viva la egg whites!
    I dislike folding laundry. I do NOT dislike folding egg whites into my batter. So fluffy! (Despite temptations, don’t over-fold. Keep in mind the over-stirring rule. Plus, too much folding collapses the peaks you’ve just formed!)
    Bubbles starting to form. Let them form across the whole pancake or it’ll be undercooked on the side that the bubbles haven’t formed.
    Bring on the syrup! These puppies need someone to eat them!
    Comments
    1. Kendra says:

      Mmm, I could eat one of these too. Smeared with PB, of course.

    Leave a Reply

    