COMING OUT HOT! Taco Soup

Posted: October 1, 2010 in Mexican, Recipes, Soup
Tags: , , , , ,

As the weather is starting to get fall-like (or as I like to call it, “high school football weather” – not because I go to HS football games anymore, just that that’s what this weather reminds me of), it’s time for soup. And lots of it! Hell yeah for soup!

Hello. I am like chili. Only better!

My inspiration for taco soup came from Facebook, as many of my cravings do now a days. A quick search online showed a similar recipe from most sites, including the one I used as motivation:

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 onion
  • 3 jalapenos
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • tomato/vegetable juice
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 (15 ounce) can chili beans
  • 2 ears of corn
  • 3 tomatillos
  • 1 can black olives
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) diced tomatoes
  • 1 (10 ounce) can Rotel/diced tomatoes with green chilies/jalapenos
  • 1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chilies
  • 1 (1 ounce) package ranch salad dressing mix
  • chili powder
  • cumin
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • red pepper flakes
  • shredded cheddar cheese

Heat oil in pan, add garlic and brown for a few minutes. Then add onions and jalapenos and cook for a few minutes before adding ground beef. Cook until barely done. Add both cans of tomatoes and the can of chili beans. Stir. Add water and tomato/vegetable juice. I add enough tomato juice to build more of a tomato broth. You could also add more water and beef bouillion cubes. The original recipe didn’t call for tomato juice, but my soup wasn’t soupy enough. And adding more water didn’t sound appetizing.

I bring this mixture to a simmer and then add the tomatillos, corn, and black olives. If you don’t like black olives, leave them out all together. I love black olives so I did the whole can. 1/2 a can’s probably enough for a normal person. Add the green chilies. Stir, and bring back to a simmer and add the ranch dressing mix. Then season to taste with chili powder, cumin, salt, black pepper, red pepper flakes, and any other seasonings. The original recipe called for taco seasoning, but I don’t care for taco seasoning. So those are the seasonings I used instead. Use whatever you like for taco meat, chili or other Mexican dishes.

Continue to simmer until the flavors are all incorporated. Or, if you’re me, about 10 minutes when you can’t wait anymore!

I garnished with shredded cheese and tortilla chips. But you could also do sour cream, guacamole, avocados, pico, etc.

Enjoy!


Diced onion, garlic cloves and jalapenos. I added the entire jalapeno, but if you want less spicy, leave out the jalapeno. Or take out the seeds and white parts.


Diced tomatoes, generic Rotel and chili beans.


The start of something delicious.


2 ears of corn, tomatillos and black olives. All three of these are optional depending on your preferences.

Stir in after the soup has come to a simmer. Then bring back to a simmer.

Add green chilies.

Add ranch dressing mix.

Then start seasoning to your personal taste. I LOVE chili powder. I always go easy on cumin because I think it can be over-powering. And add salt, black pepper and red pepper flakes to almost everything. Remember, this is where you could use taco seasoning.


After letting it simmer for as long as you can stand, dish out, and garnish with shredded cheese and tortilla chips. Perfecto!

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    Oh my gosh! This does look similar to chili! I LOVE love love chili! One of our favorite things here in the Glenn house! Oh and fall weather also reminds me of hs football! Is that weird? I am totally going to make this sometime! It looks SOOO good!

  2. Lyndsey says:

    I want some NOW

Leave a Reply

