COMING OUT HOT! Apple Brownies

Posted: September 21, 2010 in Desserts, Recipes

When I saw Dillons had local (by local I mean not bought overseas, or mass-produced out of season, etc.) apples on sale I knew I needed to buy them and make something de-licious. I love it when apples taste like apples! And not like, well, whatever apples normally taste like. Which, depending on the apple, is somewhere between fair and moderately appley. Since I’m not creative and don’t know how to find good recipes, I figured I’d end up with a cobbler or pie. Mmmmmm… Pie. But then my friend Amy made apple brownies, and after I discovered said brownies weren’t chocolate, I HAD to make them!

Proof that deliciousness ensues when you combine apples with, well, anything.

The original recipe for the culinary delight came from allrecipes.com. I’m going to put the recipe I used here instead, but feel free to refer back to the original instead

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 medium apples – peeled, cored and thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 banana, diced (this one’s purely optional, and I added it because I’ve been craving banana bread)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9×9 inch baking dish.

Beat the butter, white sugar, brown sugar, egg and vanilla until light and fluffy. Fold in the apples and walnuts. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg. Stir the flour mixture into the wet mixture until just blended. Add the bananas and lightly stir. Spread the batter evenly in the prepared baking dish.

Bake 35-40 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

I blended this with my hand mixer because my KitchenAid mixer’s in storage until my house sells. Sad face.

Here’s St. Joseph, who’s helping me sell my house quickly so I can get back to using my KitchenAid mixer… And my bread machine. I miss both. No pressure, Joe. OK, LOTS of pressure! Isn’t he cute? I gave him a tour of my house so he could see what he’s helping me sell. Yes, that really happened. He was very attentive to the tour. Then I buried him. Head down. Remember, you get out once you sell my house. See ya on the other side!

Here’s everything all mixed together. I mixed the wet ingredients with a hand mixer, but folded in the apples and walnuts with a rubber scraper. And then lightly folded in the flour, using the same. And finally the bananas.

And here it is, done. What are the holes, you ask? I don’t have toothpicks… So I test the doneness of my cakes with a chopstick. The big hole was when it wasn’t quite done. The little hole was when it was.

Here’s a nice, big closeup of the deliciousness. The edges were all crunchy and yummy. The original recipe called for all white sugar, but I think the brown sugar gave it a that extra crunch and caramely-ness. And the bananas. Oh, the bananas. Next time I’ll add two!

PS- The Missouri-grown Jonathan apples are only on sale through the end of today. Get ’em while you can! Maybe it’ll be like the Colorado cantaloupes and they’ll be on sale for several consecutive weeks. I hope so. I bought a cantaloupe a week or so ago, and they’re NOT the same anymore. Fresh, in-season’s the only way to go with fruit! They’re in a 3 pound bag. And they aren’t prominently displayed. Or at least they weren’t at my Dillons. They were mixed in with the other bagged apples.

Trust me, these bad boys are delicious. I kept eating them while I was slicing for the brownies.

Oh, one more thing! I’m not entirely sure why these things are called brownies. My end product was more cake-like. I imagine brownies being more dense and bar-like. Something you could hold in your hand. But this was pretty crumbly. No way you could eat it without a plate and fork. It may have been the couple of substitutions I made in the recipe… Anyway, nonetheless, decadent.

Leave a Reply

