Alright, who hasn’t heard of mother nature’s greatest creation? Denny’s grilled cheese with fried mozzarella sticks in the middle? I’m a sucker for grilled cheese after a night of drinking so when I saw this invention I knew it was created for me. The only way it could be better? Cheese sauce to dip your side of fries in. Yes, this mammoth sandwich comes with fries. I don’t even want to know the calorie count. OK, I do. But when I’m ordering I don’t want to consider it.


Cheesy, spicy, fried, bread. What else could I want?

So you want to hear the crazy thing with this sandwich and fries? It’s $4. FOUR DOLLARS. Seriously? They’re begging people to eat it. And die. Here’s the description:

“Grilled cheese with a twist.  Four fried mozzarella sticks and melted American cheese grilled between two slices of sourdough bread.  Served with wavy-cut French fries and a side of marinara sauce.”

My cheesy history tells me that while the mozzarella sticks would be good in marinara sauce, this sandwich has no place being dipped in it. It needs ranch. Hey, we’ve already spiraled into caloric oblivion. Why stop with a less than stellar dipping sauce?

And.. Well, OK. So I love cheese. And I love a plain old, American cheese, grilled cheese. but for some reason this sandwich, with the addition of the mozzarella sticks, seemed like it was going to taste like it was missing something. I wasn’t sure what that something was, so I added jalapenos.

Oh, and I opted for seasoned fries over wavy.

It is a delicious concept.

And here it is, folks. 1220 calories. Well, plus ranch. So it’s safe to say this is at least 1300 calories of cheesy, fried bliss.

The verdict? It was just OK. I would actually rather have just had grilled cheese with seasoned fries. It was way too much fried. Even with an alcohol-induced buzz.

I don’t think Denny’s even has a plain old grilled cheese. Everybody boo Denny’s! So I guess their $2 biscuits and gravy with one egg option (which weighs in at 430 calories) is where I should have gone.

Leave a Reply

