COMING OUT HOT! French Toast

Posted: August 24, 2010 in Breakfast, Recipes
Tags: , , , , , ,

Who doesn’t like to get to first base first thing in the morning? Well, by first base I mean first base with  your toast, French style. I LOVE French toast. And it’s super-easy to make. All you need are: bread, eggs, milk, nutmeg and cinnamon. Then whatever you top yours with. I’m usually a peanut butter and syrup kind of girl. But on this fine Saturday morning, I opted for butter and syrup.

They call me French toast for a reason. You wanna make out with me, don’t you?

OK, so here’s the ratio for this recipe: You need about one egg per piece of toast. The more pieces you do, the less eggs you’ll need. For example, if you do one or two pieces of toast, you need one or two eggs respectively. But when you get up to more pieces, you’ll have some leftover mixture (because each piece doesn’t use an entire egg). So as with all things in life, just wing it. This recipe’s for 2 pieces.

2 eggs
2-3 Tbs milk
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/8 tsp cinnamon

Feel free to adjust the spices to your preference for taste.

Put everything in a container large enough to fit a piece of bread, and whisk. Then simply dunk your bread in to coat it. Place on a greased skillet that’s warmed over medium-high heat. Cook it for a few minutes on each side. Don’t try to flip it too soon, or it’ll stick. I usually cook mine enough to only flip once.

Then pull it off the pan, put it on a plate, and top it to your liking. I generally use peanut butter, but when I made this recipe I went with plain old butter. And I ALWAYS warm my syrup. Pour out what you need into a small microwavable container (I use a shot glass!), and warm it for about 15 seconds. Those 15 seconds will make your meal a masterpiece, I promise!

Here are your two eggs, some milk, nutmeg and cinnamon. Simple, right? Now whisk like you’ve never whisked before. Or, you know, stir it up til the eggs are beaten.

Coat one side, flip, coat the other.

Drop into a greased skillet, warmed over medium-high heat. And wait just a few minutes. Easy, breezy, beautiful.

Then flip and appreciate the culinary artwork you’ve created.


Before you know it, it’s done! You hardly have time to cleanup your mess while you cook. But you won’t mind.


Topped with butter and some warm syrup. Why would anyone go out to breakfast?

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    Oh my! I flippin’ love french toast. This looks amazing!

  2. Jeanette says:

    That looks way more organized than the angel food cake or the pancakes that happened MUCH earlier Sat. morning. Who needs a beater for angel food cake…not us!

    • Kelly says:

      I thought our angel food cake was very thought out and organized. Well, until we freaked out and shook it. :-) And I was actually impressed with the pancake station, considering the level of inebriation.

  3. Lyndsey says:

    That looks heavenly! I wish I knew more unemployed people so I could get breakfast with someone!

Leave a Reply

