Chick-fil-A – 1845 Fairmount, 67260 (WSU Campus – Rhatigan Student Center)

Posted: August 20, 2010 in 67260, East Wichita, Fast Food, Northeast Wichita, Restaurant
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Alright, so I’ve eaten at Chick-fil-A probably four or five times. All except one time has been while I was a college student. And all meals have been at WSU… Each time I’ve been disappointed. But, yesterday after I forgot my sandwich I caved and ate there. There were lots of other choices in the student center, but none of them were open. Ugh.

Alright, fair disclaimer. Everyone I know not only loves Chick-fil-A, but it’s like a cult following obsession. So apparently this stuff is good and I just don’t have a taste for it. To be fair, I’m not really a fried chicken person. I do like chicken nuggets, but mostly after I’ve been drinking. Occasionally I’ll get a craving for McDonald’s crunchy chicken nuggets, but I’m not entirely sure those are meat anyway….

I ordered an 8 piece order of nuggets, and order of fries and a drink. Totaled about $6. At the Chick-fil-A at WSU everything’s ready for you. You have a limited number of options (all that was there when I was there were nuggets – 8 and 12 pieces, and chicken sandwiches, and then of course fries).

The nuggets aren’t disgusting or anything. I just like my nuggets crunchy. These are more soft. They’re little balls of chicken (wait, that sounds way wrong) that are battered and fried, I’d assume. The chicken tastes good, but I’m left wishing for some crunch.

The fries, on the other hand are good. They’re nice and crunchy.

The thing I like is they’re not stingy with sauce, and even offer it. NOT something the a-holes at McDonald’s do. They try to charge you for sauce. Effers. Wait, digressing.

Alright, for those of you avid Fil-A-ers, tell me what I’m missing. There are some people at work who go to WSU every few months just to eat there. They swear it’s delicious. I don’t think I’ve had the same un-crunchy nuggets by coincidence. I think that’s just how they are served.


Nugs ‘n Fries

They look crunchy, right? They’re just not. Sad face.

I dipped both in buffalo sauce. Mmmmmm… Buffalo sauce.

Comments
  1. Alisa says:

    Chick-fil-A is gross. The kids occasionally want to eat there (there are Chick-fil-A restaurants all over TX) and I’ve only caved once. It was, at least on that day, so busy that they walked around the outside taking orders from cars that were wrapped around the building. I never understood the appeal. I am, however, kinda excited to one day (hopefully soon) try my first What-A-Burger. When the kids want to go, I simply say (or beg, sadly), “can’t we just go to Ci-Ci’s.” And that’s gross too.
    Your review of the student center has reminded me how much I miss that campus. Thanks a lot.

    • Kelly says:

      I know. I go on campus at least once a semester for a committee I’m on there, and it always makes me miss campus. Which is weird. I don’t know why just walking on campus makes me miss school. Maybe yearning for days of yon?

      I definitely don’t get the appeal of Chick-fil-A. Or Ci-Ci’s. Although Kendra called in an order of their cheesesticks to go one time, and they were actually really good.

  2. Kim says:

    Yum! Ci Ci’s cheese bread sticks are awesome.. Kelly, I’ve never eaten at Chik fil A, and I’m not sure I ever will.. It seriously doesn’t seem like anything I would be in love with, but i completely agree that people that do love it LOVE it! It’s so weird. I also agree, if I’m getting chicken nuggets, I’d almost definitely rather have mcd’s (and so would Connor).

  3. Lyndsey says:

    Well the fries do look good, but I trust your judgement on the chicken. I haven’t met a waffle fry I didn’t like though.

  4. Kendra says:

    Man, not gonna lie. The balls of chicken look gooood! I’d try ’em, and then probably complain about them. But I wish I had a chicken ball right now. (: Haha, I just love saying it.

    I’ve never been a huge fan of waffle fries. Where is that place that has good waffle fries, Granite City? I think so. There’s are good. And if I remember correctly, Back Yard Burger had some good ones…

    • Kelly says:

      Mmmmmmmm… Backyard Burger!! I miss that place.

      And the chicken does look good. If you don’t care if it’s not crunchy you’ll like it. The chicken itself tastes good, but to me it seems soggy since it’s not crunchy. Not that crunchy means it’s good and un-crunchy means it’s bad. I just look at it and expect crunchy and it’s just not.

  5. Karla says:

    I think you people are mistaking a different part of the anatomy that is supposed to be *hard* (or, err crunchy)??? It’s in their genetic makeup people! ;) Or what do I know? Not much.

    Calling something a chicken ball unfortunately makes me kinda want to gag. ESPECIALLY when you say it’s a soggy chicken ball.

    Hahah. Fine, chicken ball is fun to say. I will give you that. BUT, don’t ever go to this place with me and expect me not to order a 6 chicken balls and fries! ;)

Leave a Reply

