COMING OUT HOT! Recipe: Whole Wheat Waffles

Posted: July 9, 2010 in Breakfast, Recipes
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I don’t know where the craving came from but late yesterday afternoon I started craving waffles. And I realized I’d never made waffles from scratch before. So I set out to tackle homemade waffles!

Tempting, no?

When I decided I wanted to make from-scratch waffles, I didn’t really know where to begin or who to ask for advice. So I went to old-reliable, Google. I decided I wanted to make whole wheat because anymore I think plain white anything is boring, and sometimes it’s hard to simply substitute whole wheat flour for white. My search landed me in Teri’s kitchen. I don’t know who Teri is, but I hope she doesn’t mind I stole her recipe! (Obviously if she were opposed to theft, she shouldn’t have posted it on the Internet.)

I did change my recipe so everything was as close to “real food” as possible. Michael Pollan has changed the way I cook, so blame him. You can also substitute low-fat or light anything (including sugar substitute). I just personally think things as close to their natural state is most healthy, even if it has more calories or fat. I didn’t change portions, just the type of flour, milk, butter, etc.

Without further adieu, let’s get started and see how royally I can screw this up!

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups (9 1/8 oz) of whole wheat and all purpose flour (I did about 75% whole wheat)
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt- I used natural sea salt
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 and 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

“Hello, you. I’m aboutsta be in yo belly!”

I’ll start by saying I was very pleased baking from scratch meant I didn’t have to go to the store. If I had baked from a mix, I would have. Two thumbs up for from-scratch!

Go ahead and get out your waffle iron and pre-heat it. Mine takes a few minutes to warm up, so I like to pre-heat from the get-go so it’s ready when I am.

First, you put all of the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt) in a large bowl. I always measure my flour (specifically if I’m using whole wheat) by weight, not with a measuring cup. I learned this trick when baking bread. For those of you who’d like to try this, 2 cups of flour is about 9 1/8 ounces.

I always feel very scientific weighing flour. Must buy goggles.

After the dry ingredients are in the bowl, stir them up to distribute everything evenly BEFORE adding the wet ingredients. We’ll get to why you want to do this before the wet ingredients are added.

Mix, mix, mix. Pat yourself on the back for being so Betty Crocker. Then text Lynds to brag about your culinary skills. She’ll text back explaining she’s drunk, watching planes flip over.

Then you beat the egg in a small, separate bowl and add it to the mix. Melt and add the butter. Add the canola oil*, milk, and vanilla.

*I’m sure there are other oils you can use. All I know is this: I use canola for sweet stuff. Olive oil for stuff like bread. Olive oil has a distinct flavor and cannot be substituted. But you might be able to use other oils. You can also substitute butter for oil if you don’t have oil. Or vice-versa if you don’t have or don’t want to use butter or margarine.

Now, here’s the trick my mom taught me that I alluded to earlier. When mixing pancake batter (whether it’s from scratch or mix) you want to mix as minimally as possible to ensure the lightest, fluffiest results. Mix too much and they get heavy and tough. This is why you want to be sure to pre-mix the dry ingredients. And why you want to beat the egg before adding.

Mix the batter until just-mixed. Then pause to appreciate how easy this has actually been. Make yourself a glass of wine.

This is where the magic happens! Grease your waffle iron and pour in the batter. For the record, the sizzle of the iron makes me happy in personal places.

Who DOESN’T over-pour the first waffle out of sheer excitement?

If you’re going to freeze any of your waffles, you might want to under-bake them a little bit. I always let mine cook until the waffle maker kindly tells me they’re done (because I like my waffles crunchy), but the option for slightly underdone is there.

My masterpiece!

I scrambled an egg and topped it with pepper jack cheese, and a side of homemade salsa (recipe I’m still perfecting, coming soon). And paired it with one of these bad boys. I topped it with natural maple syrup. The consensus (by me and the voices in my head)? DELICIOUS! Better than mix!

If you’re going to freeze the waffles, take them out of the iron and place them on a cooling rack. When they’re completely cool, separate them with wax paper and store in a freezer bag.

“Yes, hello good sir. We’re hanging out, cooling off.”
See the corners ripped off of some of the unsuspecting waffles? That’s my Quality Control Department’s work… Which is code for: I couldn’t wait to try them.

Obviously my waffle iron has hot spots, but that doesn’t mean the waffles weren’t every bit as delicious. Mmmmmmm….

Where I got it

Dillons – Central and Rock

  • Whole wheat flour
  • Cage-free eggs
  • Vitamin D milk
  • Organic butter
  • Real maple syrup
Comments
  1. Lynds says:

    Oh geez. I’ve never wanted a waffle so badly.

  2. Kathy says:

    Yummmmm. I want one, NOW!

  3. Kelly says:

    I’ll have to have a breakfast for dinner night at my house sometime. I want to find a good homemade bread to make French toast with, too!

Leave a Reply

