Hot Stone Korean Grill – 3743 N Rock # 100

Posted: August 9, 2011 in 67226, East Wichita, Northeast Wichita, Oriental
Tags: , , , , ,

Based on the recommendation of Cammy on my New Places to Review post, Charley and I hit up Korean Hot Stone Grill last week. And it was good! I’ve driven by the place a hundred times on my way to Sonic Happy Hour, but never thought much about what kinds of food they serve. That part of Wichita has tons of restaurants, but honestly? None of them are fantastic. Well, now I’m going to want to eat Korean food everyday for lunch!

Bento box = lotsa lovin’ for a lunch price

We both ordered the spicy chicken lunch combo, which is a bento box with the chicken, rice, salad, tempura vegetables and bean sprouts. All for a reasonable price (I think it was around $7). The chicken, I swear, got better the more we ate. And I liked the dressing on the salad, and it was a nice addition to the spicy chicken. But don’t get too excited, it wasn’t THAT spicy! The tempura vegetables were a nice treat for what otherwise seemed like a pretty healthy meal. The only thing I wasn’t super-excited about were the bean sprouts. It wasn’t that I disliked the sprouts themselves, but I felt like they were too salty for my taste.

The place itself was clean, and the decor was relaxing. The service was great. In fact, I’m not sure we didn’t have two servers! I asked for a suggestion on what to order, and for the record she said ribs. I’m not a fan of ribs, otherwise I probably would have taken the suggestion. I can’t complain about my experience at all, and definitely would like to go back. Next time I’m having the sweet potato noodles!

Hot Stone Korean Grill on Urbanspoon

Comments
  1. The sweet potato noodles (vegetarian, spicy) are all I ever get at Hot Stone. Just had them for lunch today, in fact. They are that good.

    • Kelly says:

      Dang it! I knew I should have ordered them! And I was going to do spicy with vegetables, too. It could have been life-changing. Oh well, I’ll just change my life someday in the future! :-)

  2. Cammy says:

    Yay! I’m so glad you enjoyed it – the bulgogi is like nothing we’d ever eaten before and is one of our favorites there. We’ve tried it at Manna Wok and Hana but still like Hot Stone best. Hopefully they were busy when you went – I want them to stay in business!

Leave a Reply

