Avivo – 2441 N Maize, Ste 101

Posted: July 6, 2011 in 67205, Northwest Wichita, Pizza, West Wichita
Tags: , , , , , ,

It didn’t take Crystal, Kristy and I too long to mark one of the newly listed places to review off the list! I have seen Avivo in New Market Square on one of the few dreaded occasions I go to that God forsaken corner of Wichita. Is it just me, or is that the absolute most congested part of town? I don’t know whose idea it was to shove a mess of stores and restaurants on one corner, but mission accomplished. Now I avoid it like the plague. Well, except for last Friday, apparently. Hey, a girl has a right to change her mind. Even mid-paragraph.

P is for pizza, that’s good enough for me.

I hate comparing local restaurants to other popular restaurants, but I think the easiest way to describe this place is to compare it to Il Vicino. And that’s a compliment all its own. The toppings aren’t exactly the same, but the order at the counter, bar available, brick oven pizza is all similar. Even the layout of the building is similar. And there’s nothing wrong with that. It’s been awhile since I’ve been to Il Vicino, but I’d even throw it out there that the pizza crust is similar. All good things.

Crystal and her husband had been to Avivo a few times so she was our expert on hand. She said she’s never had anything she doesn’t like, and suggested we get the Torta di Pesto Feta Formaggio (luckily the menu is also numbered) for an appetizer. It’s feta and cream cheese covered with pesto roasted red peppers, served with crackers. The first thing I noticed were the crackers. They weren’t hard and crunchy, but stood up to the almost cheeseball-like dip. Very good. But, it’s cheese, where would I go wrong?

Kristy ordered the Portobello e Cipolle (#14) pizza. Which is a mushroom pizza with caramelized onions, two cheeses (she had them leave off the feta, otherwise it would have been three) and thyme.  I ordered Pizza Con Salsiccia (#27) which is Italian sausage, caramelized onions, tomatoes  and two cheeses. And Crystal ordered the Margherita Neapolitan (#30) which is olive oil, tomatoes, basil and two cheeses.

All three pizzas were delicious. I love the thin, yet chewy crust. And all of the toppings were great. Even leftovers were delicious. I won’t go so far as to compare the resulting food to Il Vicino since I haven’t been there in so long. But I would say I’d eat at either.

Service was really good. They recommended we leave our tickets open in case we wanted more drinks (I like where their heads are at), kept our water glasses full, and everything came out as listed on the menu (and minus the feta as requested). And the restaurant, and even the bathrooms after Friday night dinner were clean. Everyone was very friendly and food came in a reasonable amount of time. And the beer was cold. I’m pleased.

I call you cheese ball with homemade crackers.

Italian sausage, caramelized onions and tomatoes

Tomatoes and basil

Mushrooms and caramelized onions

Avivo Brick Oven Pizzeria on Urbanspoon

Comments
  1. Karla says:

    I think I’ve been once (I want to say it was with Mat… but that could be way wrong).. and I loved it! It absolutely reminded me of Il Vicino! Mmmmmm. Pizza.

  2. Kendra says:

    I’ve been once, I think. Isn’t this the place that Tony Suellentrop owns? I loved it. Looks so good, and I think I agree with kristy leaving off feta.

    • Kelly says:

      Kristy said the same thing about it being Tony’s restaurant. Leaving off the feta was the right move. And the place was great. Too bad it’s in New Market Square. That’s the only downfall that will keep me away.

Leave a Reply

