Pizza John’s – 208 S Baltimore (Derby)

Posted: March 16, 2011 in Pizza
Tags: , , , , , ,

This blog’s been a little pizza-laden lately. But I like a pizza (or beer or queso)-laden life. So I’m not complaining. And in this case, I’m sure I’ll confirm what a lot of Derby-ites already know! I’ve heard about Pizza John’s for years. Many say they’re the only competition for my love of Gambino’s in Colwich. And love I do have for pizza. I’d say my top three before going to Pizza John’s was probably Gambino’s, Pacific Coast Pizza, and this random (and nameless because we don’t remember) pizza place in Vegas where Sarah and I ordered pizza after a day of watching the NCAA basketball tournament and having a coupon slipped under the door. Let’s not discuss how we learned later this is NOT a safe practice (calling the number of a random place slipped under your door). And I’d also like to give a Southeast Wichita salute to Po Boy Pizza for their pizza rolls (I’ve never had their pizza because I dream about the rolls). I should make eating the actual pizza a checklist item before moving, huh? But, like usual, I digress.

Do I already have people lining up to road trip to Derby?

I went to Pizza John’s a few weeks ago while I was working in Derby. And I have to say, it was great. And a good price. I loved their crust and sauce. Which, for me, is the biggest test. There’s not a particular crust or sauce I do or don’t like. But I know when I like and don’t like them. For example, I’m not a huge fan of lots of deep dish pizzas. Mostly because the greasy crust gives me a headache. No one wants a side of headache with pizza. Pizza’s supposed to bring peace on earth and goodwill toward men (and women!). Occasionally I’ll crave deep dish. But the thing is I don’t DISLIKE all deep dish, or all thick crusts. If they’re not too greasy, or don’t take over the pizza, bring it on!

The only slight complaint is they didn’t have any specialty pizza besides a supreme listed on the menu. I do realize you can create a specialty pizza by adding additional toppings, but that can get pricey. However, as far as pricing goes, the price was reasonable. So I can’t complain about price.

Bottom line: GO! If you live in Wichita, it would be a fun trip to make for pizza. Everyone at lunch seemed to know each other. I get a calm, “at home” feeling from that, even if no one knows me. Over the Friday lunch I went there was a short wait for a table. But things moved very quickly, and the wait staff was very, very friendly. As I was paying another couple brought their pizza up to get a box and the guy running the register said, “Is there something wrong?” And the guy said, “No it was so good, I need a box so we can eat it a second time.” And the guy at the register said, “If it was that damn good, you would have eaten all of it now!” Haha! That’s the small town attitude I love!

“I don’t feel that I need to explain my art to you, Warren.”

Mmmmmmm…. Pizza. I want more.

Pizza John's on Urbanspoon

Comments
  1. Kim says:

    This place was tasty! One of the things I liked about Derby when we lived there was all of the different food choices (yum, I sure do miss the Mexican restaurant!). But, my biggest complaint when we ordered there was the fact that they do not know how to price the pizzas when ordering half and half. We wanted to try a single topping and a supreme, so we asked if we were allowed to do half and half.. They of course said yes… Then when I went to pay for it was told I had to pay for the full price of a supreme, because well, that’s how they do it.. Seems quite unfair if you asked me (especially since I worked at a pizza place and on the pricing list (by the cash register) we had prices for every scenario of half and half pizza a person could dream of).

  2. Kim says:

    Evidentially too hard for them. It really made me not like the place because I would have just ordered something with more toppings for the other half. Quite honestly it’s stuff like that, that makes it reason enough for me to not eat at a place again, and we never ate there again.

Leave a Reply

