Delano Barbeque Company – 710 W Douglas

Posted: February 3, 2011 in 67203, BBQ, Delano, Restaurant
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Let me preface this by saying, I’m not a BBQ girl. I don’t mind BBQ sauce, but I mostly dip fries into it. And I LOVE grilling, but rarely eat a huge plate of meat. So while I’ll give this my best shot, I’m also not going to give the most accurate/appreciative review. My boss took my co-worker and me to lunch, so I’m not complaining. And the food we got was good. Service was very friendly. And although the restaurant was busy, it seemed to be run very efficiently. I’d also like to say I love the Delano area, and wish there were more housing options around there and the area felt a little safer, and I’d be checking out spots to live. But that’s neither here nor there. Well, I guess it’s there, but it’s barely relevant to this review.

Can you feel the love tonight? The peace the evening brings. The world for once, in perfect harmony with all its onion rings.

First, let’s take a moment to appreciate all that Delano is. When I’m there, I feel like I’m in a small town in western Kansas. This is a compliment. It’s very relaxing. Very “main street America.” We went on one of the warmer days this winter, so this was a plus. I was surprised how busy Delano gets at lunch. So while it’s “small town America,” it’s also the epicenter of said small town. Also inviting. Right out of the truck, I’m impressed!

Second, we walk in and it’s a cute place. Very reasonably busy (and we got there right around 11). You walk all the way back to order. This is where I started to get stressed. As with any popular place, most people know what they’re doing, and are in a hurry to do it. I don’t know what I’m doing. And the guys I’m with, being the gentlemen they are, push the lady to the front of the line. I freak out for a second and the lady behind the counter recognizes blind panic and asks me what I like. I say, “I’m not a HUGE BBQ fan.” She looks at me weird (I know she’s thinking, “What the Sam Hill are you doing here?!?”) then quickly adjusts and asks me if I like burgers. I say, “Yes, of course!” And that’s what I ordered. Plus fries.

The guys ordered the normal guy BBQ flair. And we were off to fill our drinks and find a table. This is where I fail as a reviewer and a blogger. The tables are setup with the normal BBQ garb. Sauces, paper towels, etc. And there were three sauces. Mild, hot and something about pigs. Help me out here. I wasn’t sure what the pig thing was, and the guys didn’t know either. I ended up mixing the hot BBQ with the “pig sauce” for quite the delectable fry dipping concoction.

When your food is delivered, they yell your name and you pick it up at the counter. Again, everything ran very efficiently, smoothly, and without a hesitation of friendliness. I’d go back. Mostly because I love Delano. I didn’t try any of the normal BBQ sides (potato salad, beans, whatnot) because, like I said, not a big fan. But I hear both the meats and the sides are delicious. My burger was good. It was no Sport Burger or Southeast Carryout. But it was good. They aren’t a burger joint, though, so don’t let that sway you. The fries were amazing. Homemade and yummy. Especially with said dipping sauce.

My boss ordered a side of onion rings for the table to share because he said they’re (in the words of Barney Stinson) “legen-dary!” They were every bit the crunchy fried goodness he promised.

Burger and Fries (sorry, no photo of the dipping sauce, which was as BBQ as I got)

Pulled pork and chips

Delano Bar Bq on Urbanspoon

Comments
  1. Lyndsey says:

    Lion King song modified to be about Onion Rings? Love it.

  2. [...] already mentioned my love for Delano in my past posts about The Biggest Cheese, Egg Roll King, Delano Barbeque, and Wichita Fish Company (This is part of Delano right? I suppose as much as The Biggest Cheese [...]

Leave a Reply

