Wichita Pizza Co – 1520 S Webb

Posted: November 5, 2010 in 67207, East Wichita, Pizza, Restaurant, Southeast Wichita
Tags: , , , , , , ,

When I heard the old Knolla’s/Geno John’s/Papa Murphy’s reopened as a new pizza place, I knew I had to try it! Especially since it was the day before my birthday, and, well, what says “happy birthday” more than pizza and beer?

Buon Compleanno!

I stopped by on my way home from work, and the inside of the store had been expanded to seating the forms an L shape around the kitchen. I was surprised to see so many TVs, and even a liquor selection. Awesome! I could chill in this place.

Unfortunately, there were no specials. Boo on no specials! How’s a girl supposed to order without the divine intervention of a special to guide the way? I settled on a small vegetarian. And sat down to wait for my food. For some strange reason there were two TVs, on different stations, with sound going simultaneously. If I were more assertive, I would have asked them to mute one of the TVs or even turned it down myself. But I didn’t have the energy. So sensory overload it was!

My pizza was ready in about 10-15 minutes. And I was excited to try it! They used both mozzarella and I believe cheddar cheese. And the toppings looked fresh (I HATE canned mushrooms)! Yay again!

The crust was cooked really well on the edges. And it wasn’t too thin or too thick, but it also seemed a little… Heavy? I can’t think of another appropriate word. The toppings and sauce were good. I normally don’t want extra sauce, but think next time I’ll ask for extra for some reason.

Overall, it’s a good place. The prices are about average as far as menu prices go in a pizza place. I wish there were some types of specials to lure customers in. I’m afraid with Papa John’s and Pizza Hut’s now cheaper menu prices, it’ll be hard for a local company to compete if their prices are higher. I know those companies can afford to have cheaper prices because they produce in mass quantities, but at the same time the economy’s tough. Maybe they can draw them in with beer specials! Because the beer with my pizza was utter, birthday perfection!

Mmmmmmm…. Pizza!

I am literally salivating.


Wichita Pizza Co. on Urbanspoon

Comments
  1. Kendra says:

    Oh that does look good!

Leave a Reply

